Time travel / age

The place to discuss particle physics
phpworm

Time travel / age

Post by phpworm » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:22 pm

First of all I'm not really a scientist or anything, so I hope you don't make me feel stupid. Just pulling a thought out of thin air here...

There is the theory that the faster you travel through space, while the perception of time doesn't change for you individually, it does slow down from the perception of others.. In other words, if you were to travel at even half of light speed away from earth a stretch and back, you would return younger than you would be had you not gone anywhere at all.

Assuming that's correct, and also assuming that "time" is a man made concept, then perhaps this could be simulated not by an object traveling through space but rather by space traveling through an object.

To give you an idea of what I mean, I visualize the growth of the human body as a really slow explosion of molecular data, and empty space also contains molecular data. If you blow up a stick of dynamite out in the open, it ages rather quickly. If you blow up a stick of dynamite in water, it ages slightly slower because it's traveling through extra mass. So if you consider space like water, and our aging process like a stick of dynamite, that would explain why time is altered the faster we're going. For every action (pushing against water/space), there is an equal and opposite reaction (our growth being compressed by the weight of the extra mass).

This might also imply that we could age slower or faster if we were to live in different parts of the universe where the expansion is different from how we currently perceive it.

Anyway, a lot of babbling which brings me to my point...

How dangerous or probable would it be to set up some type of living area for a group of people, directly in the path of a consistent number of particles being fired by the LHC? Would that not simulate traveling through space at high speeds?

Kasuha