LHC as detector of relict neutrinos?

The place to discuss particle physics
Kasuha

LHC as detector of relict neutrinos?

Post by Kasuha » Wed Feb 03, 2010 4:11 pm

I was reading an article about neutrinos and their detection recently and when it discussed relict neutrinos and problems with their detection due to their extremely low energy I got an idea if LHC couldn't be used as a kind of such a detector - sure these neutrinos have too small energy to interact with any non-relativistic matter but protons in LHC are quite relativistic to make such collisions possible ... maybe?

I understand there is very little "detector matter" circulating in LHC but eventual collision of such kind could be possibly detected as a collision which occurred e.g. in time or place where beams are in the LHC but don't collide.

Now I'm no scientist so I'd like to ask if somebody knows if something like this is at all possible and if it was taken into account...

Anitusar

Re: LHC as detector of relict neutrinos?

Post by Anitusar » Sun Feb 07, 2010 9:02 pm

No, this will not be possible for several reasons:

1) The problem with Neutrinos is not their low energy, but their very, very, very, very low interaction rate. If you would want to make sure, that a neutrino had an interaction with a material, you would need several lightyears(!) of a gold volume for example. They really do not like to interact.

2) If there would be an interaction with a proton of the beam, it would most likely occur in the parts of the ring, where the protons are accellarated. No detectors there.

CERN is however involved in the neutrino field via the CERN Neutrinos to Gran Sasso experiment, where they study neutrino oscillations.

A good neutrino detector has to be really big due to the low interaction rate. One experiment i find really cool is the IceCube Neutrino Observatory

Kasuha

Post by Kasuha » Mon Feb 08, 2010 11:36 am